All web sites that accept online payments are subject to a set of security best practices that are maintained by an organisation called the PCI Security Standards Council.

By 30th June 2018, all companies providing secure online payment, including RM, are required to disable TLS 1.0 cryptography protocol for these web sites.

TLS is a cryptography protocol that is used for the majority of secure HTTPS web sites. There are multiple versions of TLS; the most current release is TLS v1.2. TLS v1.2 is widely supported by all current Internet browser software.

What are we planning to do?

At the end of May 2018, RM will disable TLS 1.0 support for the following web sites:

  • – RM Store
  • – RM Books payment service
  • – SWGfL Electronic Service Interface
  • – RM Support Online
  • – RM My Account
  • – RM Partner Programme Portal

All these web sites already support TLS 1.1 and 1.2 and will continue to do so after the switch-off.

What do I need to do?

If your network uses modern Internet browser software then it is likely that no action is required.

Specifically TLS v1.2 is enabled by default on the following Internet browser versions:

  • Internet Explorer 11
  • Google Chrome v33 or above
  • Firefox v27 or above
  • Safari v7 or above (Mac OS X v10.9+)

Many of these browsers are automatically updated to the latest version.

If your network uses Windows 7 with Internet Explorer 10 or below, then the ideal course of action is to upgrade to Internet Export 11 or a suitable alternative in order to maintain TLS 1.2 support.

If your network uses older Operating System software then you may find you are not able to access these web sites, and also a wide range of other public web sites that take secure payments after 30th June 2018.

See our Support Article for further advice

back to top button